Tat Ink vs BlackInk AI vs TattooGen AI: Which AI Tattoo Generator Fits You?
Side-by-side facts on Tat Ink, BlackInk AI and TattooGen AI: free allowance, sign-up, price, try-on, stencils, cover-up and commercial use. Checked October 2026.
Disclosure: This page is written by the TattooGen AI team. Facts about the others come from their own websites, checked on October 29–30, 2026. We did not run a quality test, so we don't say which looks best.
Short answer: Choose BlackInk AI if you want to start with no account and may want unlimited designs. Choose Tat Ink if you want a free allowance without signing up, plus cost and filler tools. Choose TattooGen AI if you want designs shaped for a body area, sleeve fillers, and free no-account lettering tools. Tat Ink and TattooGen AI have the same monthly prices.
Side by side
| Tat Ink | BlackInk AI | TattooGen AI | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free allowance | 8 credits/mo as a guest, 25 signed in | 8 free designs | 25 credits/mo signed in, about 6 images |
| Account needed to generate | No | No | Yes, Google |
| Cheapest plan | $8.79/mo, 300 credits | $15/mo, or $72/year | $8.79/mo, 300 credits |
| Other plans | $16.79 (900), $34.99 (2,500) | $39.99 per 3 months | $16.79 (900), $34.99 (2,500) |
| Limit | Credits | Unlimited designs | Credits; 4 per image, about 75 images on $8.79 |
| Photo to tattoo | Yes | Not stated | Yes, 2 designs per photo |
| Try-on | Your body photo | Body-placement preview | Your body photo |
| Stencil | Yes | Yes (Pro) | Yes |
| Cover-up | Yes | Has a cover-up tool | Yes, 2 images on your photo |
| Fonts | 20+ styles | Yes | 44 fonts, free, no account |
| Commercial use | FAQ says all paid plans; cheapest plan card says "Private creative use" | Not stated (FAQ: you own the design) | Max plan only |
| Languages on the site | Includes Japanese and Korean | Not checked | 9 languages |
What each one does differently
Tat Ink lets guests generate without an account. It also has a tattoo cost calculator, a filler tool and placement pages.
BlackInk AI has one paid product: unlimited designs, stencils and HD downloads. At $72 a year it is simple if you make many designs.
TattooGen AI can shape a text design for a full sleeve, forearm, back, chest, shoulder, thigh or hand. It also has free no-account tools for fonts, Roman numerals, Morse code, birth flowers and names. Its AI tools need Google sign-in, and free images carry a watermark.
FAQ
Which is the cheapest for heavy use?
BlackInk AI's $72 yearly plan is unlimited. On the credit plans, $34.99 a month buys about 625 images on TattooGen AI.
Which can I use with no account?
Tat Ink and BlackInk AI. On TattooGen AI only the free lettering tools work without an account.
Can I take the designs to a tattoo artist?
Yes, with any of them. Expect the artist to redraw the design for your skin and placement.