BlackInk AI Alternatives in 2026: 6 AI Tattoo Generators Compared
Looking for a BlackInk AI alternative? 6 AI tattoo generators compared on free allowance, price, try-on, stencils and fonts. Facts from each site, checked October 2026.
Disclosure: This page is written by the TattooGen AI team, and TattooGen AI is one of the tools below. Facts come from each tool's own website, checked on October 29, 2026. Prices change, so please confirm before you pay. We did not run a quality test.
Short answer: BlackInk AI gives 8 free designs with no sign-up, and unlimited designs for $15 a month or $72 a year. For a monthly free allowance, try Tat Ink or TattooGen AI. For one-time packs instead of a subscription, try InkStudio. For the lowest yearly price, try TattoosAI. For free with no sign-up and no watermark, try Fotor.
How do the alternatives compare?
| Tool | Free | Sign-up needed | Cheapest paid | Try-on on your photo | Stencil | Fonts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BlackInk AI | 8 designs | No | $15/mo; $72/year | Body-placement preview | Yes (Pro) | Yes |
| Fotor | Free, no limit stated, no watermark | No | Not readable on page | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| InkStudio | 2D try-on; no free AI credits stated | Not for 2D try-on | $6.99 one-time (3 days, 12 credits) | Yes | Yes (paid) | Yes |
| Tat Ink | 8 credits/mo as a guest, 25 signed in | No | $8.79/mo, 300 credits | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| TattooGen AI | 25 credits/mo, about 6 images | Yes (Google) | $8.79/mo, 300 credits | Yes | Yes | 44 fonts, free, no sign-up |
| TattoosAI | 4 designs | Yes | $4.99/mo billed yearly; $14.99/mo | No (their FAQ: "Not at this moment") | Free tool | Free tool |
"Not stated" means the tool's page doesn't say.
When BlackInk AI is the better choice
If you make a lot of designs, BlackInk's unlimited plan can cost less than credit plans. At $72 a year it works out to $6.00 a month. It also lets you start with no account, which TattooGen AI doesn't.
When an alternative makes more sense
- You only want one tattoo. InkStudio's one-time pack avoids a subscription.
- You want a free allowance every month. Tat Ink and TattooGen AI both reset monthly.
- You want to hide an old tattoo. Tat Ink and TattooGen AI have cover-up tools. See our cover-up comparison.
- You want a sleeve. TattooGen AI can shape a design for a full sleeve, forearm, back, chest, shoulder, thigh or hand.
- You want free lettering tools. TattooGen AI has a font generator, plus Roman numeral and Morse code tools, with no account.
FAQ
Is there a free alternative to BlackInk AI?
Yes. Fotor says it is free with no sign-up and no watermark. Tat Ink and TattooGen AI give free credits every month.
What is the cheapest alternative?
TattoosAI at $4.99 a month billed yearly, by the prices on its website. For no subscription, InkStudio starts at $6.99 one-time.
Which alternative has try-on on my own photo?
Tat Ink, TattooGen AI, Fotor and InkStudio all say they support it. TattoosAI says it does not yet.