TattooBuild vs TattooGen AI: Prices, Packs and Features Compared
TattooBuild and TattooGen AI both sell a $4.99 pack with no subscription. Side-by-side facts on packs, monthly plans, free use, try-on and stencils.
Disclosure: This page is written by the TattooGen AI team. Facts about TattooBuild come from its homepage and pricing page, checked on November 5, 2026. We did not run a quality test, so we don't say which one draws better.
Short answer: Both sell a $4.99 one-time pack for 25 images with no subscription, so the entry price is the same. Choose TattooBuild if you want bigger one-time packs, a yearly discount, editing tools and a printable brief for your artist. Choose TattooGen AI if you want a free monthly allowance, 4 designs per run, cheaper monthly plans for the same number of images, and tools that start from a photo or an old tattoo.
Side by side
| TattooBuild | TattooGen AI | |
|---|---|---|
| Free use | Pricing page invites you to try an idea in the studio; no monthly free allowance stated. Try-on needs a free account | 25 credits every month with Google sign-in, about 6 images, no card |
| One-time packs | $4.99 for 25 designs, $12.99 for 75, $29.99 for 200 | $4.99 for 100 credits, about 25 images |
| Credits expire? | No | No |
| Monthly plans | $9.99 (50 designs), $14.99 (150), $29.99 (350) | $8.79 (about 75 images), $16.79 (about 225), $34.99 (about 625) |
| Yearly billing | Saves at least 50% | Monthly only |
| Designs per run | Up to 2, 3 or 4 variations, by plan | 4 designs per text run |
| Styles | 13 | 16 |
| Text to tattoo | Yes | Yes |
| Photo to tattoo | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, 2 designs from one photo |
| Try-on on your photo | Yes | Yes, on your own body photo |
| Stencil / line art | Yes | Yes, from any design |
| Cover-up of an old tattoo | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, 2 ideas on your photo |
| Transparent PNG | Yes | No |
| Editing tools and Detail mode | Yes, every plan | No editing tools |
| Printable artist brief (PDF) | Yes | No |
| Free tools without an account | Not checked | Fonts, Roman numerals, Morse code, name layouts, cost calculator |
On both sites a stencil or a try-on is a new image, so it uses one design or one image's worth of credits.
Which is cheaper per image?
For one-time packs, the first pack is the same: $4.99 for about 25 images, or 20¢ each. TattooBuild's larger packs drop to 17.3¢ (75 designs) and 15¢ (200 designs). TattooGen AI has one pack size.
For monthly plans, TattooGen AI gives more images at each price point: about 75 images for $8.79 against 50 for $9.99, and about 225 for $16.79 against 150 for $14.99. TattooBuild's yearly billing saves at least 50%, which brings its plans below our monthly price per image if you pay for a year up front.
What each one does differently
TattooBuild is built around refining one design: Detail mode, editing tools, design sheets, transparent PNGs and a printable brief with space for your artist's notes.
TattooGen AI is built around starting points: text, a photo of a pet or a person, or an old tattoo to cover. It can also shape a design for a body area, such as a full sleeve or a forearm. AI tools need Google sign-in, and free images carry a small watermark.
FAQ
Can I pay once for TattooBuild or TattooGen AI without a subscription?
Yes, both. TattooBuild sells one-time packs of 25, 75 and 200 designs. TattooGen AI sells a one-time pack of 100 credits, about 25 images. Credits from these packs do not expire on either site.
Which one is free?
TattooGen AI gives 25 free credits every month after Google sign-in, about 6 images. TattooBuild's pricing page does not state a monthly free allowance; it suggests trying an idea in its studio before choosing a plan.
Can I turn a photo into a tattoo?
On TattooGen AI, yes: Image to Tattoo turns a photo of a pet, a person or a place into 2 designs. We did not find a photo-to-tattoo tool on TattooBuild's homepage or pricing page.
Can I see the tattoo on my body first?
Yes, both have a skin try-on from your own photo. On TattooBuild it needs a free account; on TattooGen AI it needs Google sign-in and uses 4 credits.