Best AI Tattoo Generators in 2026: Free Tiers, Prices and Features Compared
9 AI tattoo generators compared on facts: free allowance, sign-up, watermark, try-on, stencils, fonts and price. Checked October 29, 2026.
Disclosure: This page is written by the TattooGen AI team, and TattooGen AI is one of the tools below. To keep it fair, every fact comes from each tool's own website, checked on October 29, 2026. We did not run a quality bake-off, so we don't claim any tool "looks best." Tools are listed in alphabetical order. Prices change, so please confirm on each site before you pay.
Short answer: If you want a tattoo-only tool that does everything (text to tattoo, photo to tattoo, try-on on your own photo, stencils and fonts) with a monthly free allowance, look at Tat Ink or TattooGen AI. If you want no sign-up at all, BlackInk AI (8 free designs) and Fotor (free, no watermark) are the easiest starts. If you want unlimited designs for the lowest yearly price, TattoosAI ($4.99/month billed yearly) and BlackInk AI ($72/year) are the cheapest. If you need commercial use from a big brand, Adobe Firefly states it in writing.
How do they compare at a glance?
| Tool | Free allowance | Sign-up to generate | Cheapest paid | Try-on on your photo | Stencil | Tattoo fonts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Firefly | Free daily generations (number not stated) | Yes (Adobe account) | $9.99/mo, 2,000 credits | Not stated | Not stated | No |
| BlackInk AI | 8 free designs | No | $15/mo; $72/year | Body-placement preview | Yes (Pro) | Yes |
| Fotor | Free, no limit stated | No | Not readable on page | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| InkStudio | Free 2D try-on; no free AI credits stated | Not for 2D try-on | $6.99 one-time (3 days, 12 credits) | Yes (2D free, 3D paid) | Yes (paid) | Yes |
| PicLumen | 10 free Lumens a day | Yes | $7.59/mo ($6.09/mo yearly) | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tat Ink | 8 credits/mo as a guest, 25/mo signed in | No | $8.79/mo, 300 credits | Yes | Yes | Yes (20+ styles) |
| Tattoo AI Design | 60 credits for new users + 20 per daily check-in | Yes | $9.99 one-time, 4,000 credits | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| TattooGen AI | 25 credits/mo with Google sign-in (about 6 images) | Yes (Google) | $8.79/mo, 300 credits | Yes | Yes | Yes (44 fonts, free, no sign-up) |
| TattoosAI | 4 designs per account | Yes | $4.99/mo billed yearly; $14.99/mo | No (their FAQ: "Not at this moment") | Free stencil maker | Free font tool |
"Not stated" means the tool's own page doesn't say. It doesn't mean the feature is missing.
Which tools have no watermark on free images?
Only Fotor says plainly that its free tattoo images have no watermark. Tattoo AI Design marks free images as watermarked. TattooGen AI puts a watermark on free images; paid plans download 2K PNGs without one. The others don't say on their pages.
Which ones can I use without signing up?
- BlackInk AI: "Free, no sign-up," 8 designs.
- Fotor: free and no sign-up.
- Tat Ink: guests get up to 8 credits a month.
- InkStudio: the 2D try-on works without signing in.
- TattooGen AI: the free tools (tattoo fonts, Roman numerals, Morse code, birth flowers, name tattoos) need no account. The AI generator needs Google sign-in.
Which is cheapest if I make a lot of designs?
- TattoosAI: $4.99/month billed yearly, unlimited designs.
- BlackInk AI: $72/year ($6.00/month), unlimited designs.
- Tat Ink and TattooGen AI: $8.79/month for 300 credits. On TattooGen AI each image costs 4 credits, so that's about 75 images.
- InkStudio and Tattoo AI Design sell one-time packs with no subscription.
Can I try a tattoo on my own body photo?
Tat Ink, TattooGen AI, Fotor, PicLumen, InkStudio and Tattoo AI Design all say you can upload your own photo and see the design on it. BlackInk AI offers body-placement previews. TattoosAI says try-on is not available yet. On TattooGen AI, Try On Tattoo takes a body photo plus a design and returns one realistic preview.
Can I bring an AI tattoo design to a tattoo artist?
Yes. Most artists are happy to start from a reference. Bring a clean, high-resolution file and expect them to redraw it for your skin, size and placement. A stencil (clean black outlines) makes their job easier. Tattoo Stencil Generator turns any design into one.
Can I sell designs I make?
- Adobe Firefly says its outputs can be used for "both personal tattoos and commercial projects."
- PicLumen and Tattoo AI Design exclude commercial use on their free plans.
- Tat Ink's FAQ says all paid plans include a commercial license, but its cheapest plan card says "Private creative use."
- TattooGen AI includes commercial use on the Max plan only.
What is TattooGen AI?
TattooGen AI is an AI tattoo generator.
- Text to tattoo: describe an idea, pick one of 16 styles, and get 4 designs in about 20 seconds.
- Photo to tattoo: turns a pet, portrait or flower photo into 2 tattoo designs.
- Try-on and stencils: see a design on your body and get stencil outlines.
- Free allowance: 25 credits every month after Google sign-in, about 6 images, no card. Each image costs 4 credits.
- Paid plans: $8.79, $16.79 and $34.99 a month, with 2K downloads and no watermark.
- Privacy: uploaded photos are deleted after 7 days.
We built it as a tattoo-only tool, so every result comes as clean flash on a white background, ready to show an artist. See pricing.
FAQ
What is the best free AI tattoo generator?
It depends on what "free" means to you. With no sign-up: BlackInk AI (8 designs) or Fotor. As a monthly free allowance: Tat Ink (25 credits signed in) or TattooGen AI (25 credits, about 6 images). For a daily allowance: PicLumen (10 Lumens a day) or Tattoo AI Design (20 credits per daily check-in).
Is there an AI tattoo generator that makes stencils?
Yes. Tat Ink, BlackInk AI (Pro), InkStudio (paid) and TattooGen AI make stencil outlines. TattoosAI has a free stand-alone stencil maker.
Which AI tattoo generators have tattoo fonts?
Tat Ink, BlackInk AI, InkStudio and TattoosAI list font tools. TattooGen AI has a free tattoo font generator with 44 fonts and transparent PNG downloads.
Are AI tattoo generators safe for my photos?
Read each privacy policy. TattooGen AI deletes uploaded photos after 7 days and generated images after 90 days, and does not use your photos to train AI models.